India Squad For Asian Games 2023 Schedule: All You Need To Know

The upcoming Asian Games 2023, set to take place in Hangzhou, China, from September 23 to October 8, will see the participation of the Indian men’s cricket team. The Board of Control for Cricket in India recently announced a 15-member squad, along with five standby players, for this prestigious event. The cricket matches will be played in the T20 format from September 28 to October 8 at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

india squad for asian games 2023 schedule

India Squad For Asian Games 2023 Schedule

Due to the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup commencing in India on October 5, the Indian team for the Hangzhou Games will primarily consist of second-string players, with notable absentees such as Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. Nevertheless, this presents an exciting opportunity for several promising youngsters, many of whom have performed exceptionally well in the Indian Premier League.

YouTube video

One key of the squad is the appointment of Ruturaj Gaikwad as captain. The 26-year-old Gaikwad, who represents the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, has been entrusted with the responsibility of leading the Indian team at the Hangzhou Asian Games. Gaikwad’s consistent performance and leadership qualities have earned him this prestigious role.

Joining Gaikwad in the squad are formidable young talents such as Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rinku Singh. Jaiswal, who recently made his debut in the ongoing Test series against the West Indies, showcased his skills by scoring a century. His inclusion in the team is a testament to his incredible talent and potential. Rinku Singh, who gained attention with his impressive batting performances for the Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2023, has also received his maiden call-up to the national team.

Also Read:  MLB: Is Joe Ryan Christian? His Religion And Ethnicity

Cricket has previously been featured in the Asian Games, with Bangladesh emerging as the winner in the inaugural edition held in Guangzhou in 2010. Sri Lanka, the defending champions, claimed victory in the subsequent edition held in Incheon in 2014, with Afghanistan finishing as the runners-up on both occasions.

The full squad for the Asian Games 2023 Indian men’s cricket team consists of Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, and Prabhsimran Singh (wicket-keeper). Additionally, the standby players include Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, and Sai Sudarsan. It is an exciting time for Indian cricket, as the nation continues to nurture and develop future stars who have the potential to make a significant impact in the sport.

Gurleen Kaur

I'm a science graduate from the Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria. My passion for writing has brought me to into the field of content.