Telangana election 2023: Which political parties support BJP, Congress and BRS

As the Telangana Assembly Election 2023 approaches, political parties are actively engaged in forming new alliances and dissolving old ones. The election is expected to feature a competition between the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), the Congress, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Here’s a breakdown of the activities of various political parties in the state:

Telangana election 2023

  1. Support for Congress: The Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) party has offered “unconditional support to the Congress” in the forthcoming state assembly elections, as reported by ANI. Additionally, YSR Telangana Party’s president, YS Sharmila Reddy, has declared her party’s support for the Congress in the Telangana Assembly election, stating that the YSRTP will not contest in this election. In the 2018 Telangana polls, the Congress formed a pre-poll alliance known as the People’s Front (Praja Kutami), which included the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Communist Party of India (CPI), and the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS).
  2. TDP’s Decision: The Telangana unit of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has chosen not to participate in the assembly polls scheduled for November 30. TDP sources cited the recent arrest of party chief N. Chandrababu Naidu as the reason for their decision. The TDP has not yet declared its support for any other party in the election.
  3. CPI(M) and Congress Alliance Called Off: The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI(M)) terminated its proposed alliance with the Congress on November 2. The CPI(M) also unveiled a list of 17 constituencies where it plans to contest in the November 30 Telangana Assembly elections, according to the News Minute. This decision came after the Congress did not agree to allocate two out of the five requested seats to the CPI(M).
  4. Potential CPI(M) and CPI Alliance: There are indications that the CPI(M) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) might contest the elections together if the CPI is agreeable.
  5. BJP and Jana Sena Party (JSP) Alliance: The BJP and the Jana Sena Party (JSP) are in discussions to form an alliance. Seat-sharing talks were initiated in October, and actor-turned-politician K Pawan Kalyan, who leads the JSP, met with Union Home Minister Amit Shah in this regard.
  6. BRS Going Solo: The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) is contesting the Telangana polls independently. Nevertheless, AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi has urged the public to vote for AIMIM candidates wherever they are running and to support the BRS in the remaining constituencies.

As the election date approaches, the political landscape in Telangana is evolving with shifting alliances and strategies. In the 2018 Telangana elections, the incumbent Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) clinched a majority with 88 out of 119 seats. The Congress secured 19 seats, while the Left parties did not secure any seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to secure just one seat, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won two seats, and the All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) secured seven seats. The Telangana assembly, comprising 119 members, is scheduled for elections on November 30, 2023, as announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The date for counting the votes has been set for December 3.