Bengaluru’s Purple Line metro opening for public tomorrow

Bengaluru’s Purple Line metro is set to achieve full operational status on Saturday, October 7, according to the latest updates from Bangalore Metro. The official inauguration is scheduled for Friday, October 6, with public services starting the next day. This marks the completion of the Purple Line, covering the Krishnarajapuram – Baiyappanahalli and Kengeri–Challaghatta stretches.


After the introduction of these two vital metro lines, the complete Purple Line will encompass a total stretch of 42.85 km, establishing a connection from Challaghatta in West Bengaluru to Whitefield (Kadugodi) in East Bengaluru. The conclusion of this corridor is poised to make a substantial contribution to easing the prevalent traffic congestion in East Bengaluru, delivering encouraging news for daily commuters.

During rush hours, commuters can experience a 10-minute frequency between Challagatta and Whitefield (Kadugodi) and a five-minute gap between Pattandur Agrahara and Mysuru Road stations on the Bengaluru Metro’s Purple Line. Additionally, there are considerations for short-loop services during peak times connecting Nadaprabhu Kempegowda interchange Metro Station, Majestic, and MG Road/Byappanahalli. The metro journey from Challaghatta to Whitefield is anticipated to take approximately 76 minutes, with an affordable end-to-end fare fixed at Rs 60. Authorities from the Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) foresee a substantial rise in daily ridership, estimating an increase from the current 6.2 lakh to 7 lakh passengers once the Whitefield-Challaghatta corridor is fully operational.

This development follows the official inauguration of the Whitefield-KR Puram Metro section, covering a distance of 13.7 km, by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on March 25, 2023. The unresolved connection between KR Puram and Byappanahalli had been a notable challenge for commuters, necessitating the use of feeder buses to complete their journeys. The completion of these pending stretches signifies a significant milestone for Bengaluru’s metro system, positioning it as the second-largest metro network in India, surpassed only by Delhi Metro’s extensive 350.2 km.

The Purple Line predominantly consists of elevated sections, featuring 29 elevated stations, 5 underground stations, and 1 at-grade station. The metro journey from Challaghatta to Whitefield is estimated to take approximately 76 minutes, with a fare of ₹60, according to a report from News 18. The Bengaluru Purple Line encompasses a total of 37 stations, including notable ones such as Whitefield (Kadugodi), Hopefarm Channasandra, Kadugodi Tree Park, Pattanduru Agrahara, Sri Sathya Sai Hospital, Nallurhalli, Kundalahalli, Seetharamapalya, Hoodi, Garudacharapalya, Singayyanapalya, Krishnarajapura (K.R.Pura), Benniganahalli, Baiyappanahalli, Swami Vivekananda Road, Indiranagara, Halasuru, Trinity, MG Road, Cubbon Park, Dr. BR. Ambedkar Station Vidhana Soudha, Sir M. Visveshwaraya Station, Nadaprabhu Kempegowda station, City Railway station, Magadi Road, Sri Balagangadharanatha Swamiji Station, Vijayanagara, Attiguppe, Deepanjali Nagara, Mysuru Road, Pantharapalya – Nayandahalli, Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Jnanabharathi, Pattanagere, Kengeri Bus Terminal, Kengeri, and Challaghatta.